Pretty Green

Record Store Day 2014’s Best Bets

record store dayIt’s that time of year again: the unveiling of this year’s delights for Record Store Day. Check out the full list of releases on the US and UK sites, or scroll down for our list of the best picks. We’ll see you at your local shops on April 19th!

1. Damon Albarn – Hollow Ponds / Lonely Press Play (7 inch)
Damon Albarn’s first physical release from his forthcoming solo album will hit shelves about a week before Everyday Robots.

2. David Bowie – Rock’N’Roll Suicide (7 inch picture disc)
First released as a single in 1974, the new version is backed with ‘Farewell Speech,’ recorded at the final Ziggy Stardust concert at London’s Hammersmith Odeon in July 1973.

3. Jake Bugg – Live At Silver Platters, Seattle (EP)
A four-track EP recorded at a January 20, 2014 in-store performance in Seattle. It features acoustic versions of tracks from his debut album and 2013 follow-up Shangri La. The tracklisting is ‘There’s A Beast,’ ‘Trouble Town,’ ‘Lightning Bolt,’ and ‘Storm Passes.’

4. Inspiral Carpets – Dung 4 (cassette) and Cow (7 inch)
The Carpets are reissuing their 1987 demo tape, Dung 4. The eleven-song demo was originally given a limited cassette-only release in 1989 but has been unavailable since. The band will also be reissuing another 1987 demo, the four-track 7 inch Cow. Dung 4 will receive a wider release on CD and digital formats on April 28.

5. Joy Division – An Ideal For Living (12 inch)
One of the most highly-anticipated releases of the day is the reissue of Joy Division’s first recording, 1978’s An Ideal For Living. The four tracks are from a newly-cut master and include ‘Warsaw,’ ‘No Love Lost,’ ‘Leaders of Men,’ and ‘Failures.’

6. Oasis – Supersonic (12 inch)
An exclusive release for Record Store Day, this is a reissue of the original ‘Supersonic’ 12 inch with remastered audio. Even better, it’s on heavyweight vinyl with its original sleeve. Tracks are ‘Supersonic,’ ‘Take Me Away,’ and a live version of ‘I Will Believe.’

7. Suede – Let Go (7 inch)
Suede will finally release their ‘lost’ single ‘Let Go’ on 7 inch vinyl for the first time. One of the Suede rarities, the song was originally released as a limited-run Swedish CD single in 1999. The 7 inch features ‘Heroin’ on its b-side.

Suede recently announced the April 14 release of a comprehensive singles box set, which will be available on CD and 7 inch formats, each limited to 1,000 copies. The collection will feature all 24 Suede singles from 1992 through last year’s Bloodsports. The CD set will feature almost every Suede b-side, including several omitted from the 2011 album reissues. The 7 inch set will feature reproductions of eleven previously-released 7 inch singles, plus thirteen that have never been released on vinyl. What isn’t included is ‘Let Go,’ but the Record Store Day exclusive will slot right into the box set to the satisfaction of any Suede completist.

Britpopping since I first heard 'Animal Nitrate' in 1993

Related posts