Pretty Green

Oasis ‘Definitely Maybe’ Reissue Definitely Happening

NoelGallagher111Oasis announced yesterday that they would be celebrating the twentieth anniversary of the release of their debut album, Definitely Maybe, with a remastered edition on May 19. The reissue will be the first in the new three-part Chasing The Sun series, which will include the band’s follow-up albums, What’s The Story (Morning Glory)? and Be Here Now, later this year.

The twentieth anniversary edition of Definitely Maybe will be available in several formats. It will be released as a standard CD with digital download of the original album; a three-disc special edition containing a wealth of rare recordings and demos; a 12″ LP with all the bonus CD content as a free download; and a deluxe box set, which features both the LP and the CDs. It has also been announced that Oasis will reissue their single ‘Supersonic’ as a 12″ to coincide with Record Store Day on April 19.

Obviously, the bounty of rare bonus content is the major draw for the reissue. So, what exactly will we find on the collection? You can check out the tracklisting for the three-disc special edition below. The first disc of bonus material contains a plethora of demos, as well as the stand-alone single, ‘Whatever.’ Unheard acoustic versions of ‘Live Forever’ and ‘Shakermaker’ recorded in Paris and a live recording of Oasis’ ‘Sad Song’ show at Manchester Academy round out the final disc. To whet your appetite for the new series, have a look at the trailer below.

Disc 1

1. Rock’N’Roll Star
2. Shakermaker
3. Live Forever
4. Up In The Sky
5. Columbia
6. Supersonic
7. Bring It On Down
8. Cigarettes & Alcohol
9. Digsy’s Dinner
10. Slide Away
11. Married With Children

Disc 2

1. Columbia (White Label Demo)
2. Cigarettes & Alcohol (Demo)
3. Sad Song
4. I Will Believe (Live)
5. Take Me Away
6. Alive (Demo)
7. D’Yer Wanna Be A Spaceman?
8. Supersonic (Live)
9. Up In The Sky (Acoustic)
10. Cloudburst
11. Fade Away
12. Listen Up
13. I Am The Walrus (Live Glasgow Cathouse June 1994)
14. Whatever
15. (It’s Good) To Be Free
16. Half The World Away

Disc 3

1. Supersonic (Live At Glasgow Tramshed)
2. Rock’N’Roll Star (Demo)
3. Shakermaker (Live Paris in-store)
4. Columbia (Eden Studios Mix)
5. Cloudburst (Demo)
6. Strange Thing (Demo)
7. Live Forever (Live Paris in-store)
8. Cigarettes & Alcohol (Live At Manchester Academy)
9. D’Yer Wanna Be A Spaceman? (Live At Manchester Academy)
10.Fade Away (Demo)
11. Take Me Away (Live At Manchester Academy)
12. Sad Song (Live At Manchester Academy)
13. Half The World Away (Live, Tokyo hotel room)
14. Digsy’s Dinner (Live, Paris in-store)
15. Married With Children (Demo)
16. Up In The Sky (Live Paris in-store)
17. Whatever (Strings)

Rumors of a reunion marking Oasis’ twenty year anniversary have dogged the estranged Gallagher brothers for the past year, and both took the opportunity to weigh in on the likelihood of such an event. Liam’s response left some hope for fans yearning to see the band back together. Last summer, he told the NME that the band might ‘bury the hatchet for a quick lap of honour’ to celebrate the milestone. Noel, however, has staunchly denied any possibility for a reunion and said that he would only consider it under certain circumstances. ‘It’s not going to happen…One can never say never, because one might be skint. But I’ve got no intention.’


Britpopping since I first heard 'Animal Nitrate' in 1993

Related posts