Pretty Green

Electric Picnic 2013

The tenth Electric Picnic will be held from 30 August to 1 September at Stradbally Estate in Ireland.

The festival has one of the better line-ups of the season. Fatboy Slim and the Arctic Monkeys headline. Johnny Marr, Miles Kane, Franz Ferdinand, My Bloody Valentine, the Duckworth Lewis Method (of which the Divine Comedy’s Neil Hannon is a member), and Ocean Colour Scene will all be present. Plus, there will be a slew of the up-coming bands that are on every festival ticket: Palma Violets, Savages, Peace, The Strypes, Chvrches, and the 1975. The Electric Picnic is also one of the more versatile festivals that also have netted big headliners. It should be interesting to see Bjork, Wu-Tang Clan, David Byrne, and Giorgio Moroder in the same weekend.

And, if you were wondering what was on the menu for Electric Picnics past, here is a short time-travel through some of the highlights:

Pulp performing ‘Common People’ at Electric Picnic 2011. Yes, reunited Pulp with Russell Senior on violin!

Here is Pulp doing ‘Babies’ also from Electric Picnic 2011.

Richard Hawley performing ‘Open Up Your Door’ at Electric Picnic 2012. You might remember the talented guitarist from Longpigs, and he, also, took over guitar duties when Russell Senior left Pulp. His beautiful solo work has him as Sheffield’s Roy Orbison.

Britpopping since I first heard 'Animal Nitrate' in 1993

Related posts